13.1 Or Bust!

For some of us, life has to now have challenges constantly. I literally must live each day for the next challenge or I feel like I’m wasting this life I’ve been given. I don’t know if all cancer survivors feel this way, but I have a feeling that it’s not uncommon.

I’ve done a few 5K runs/walks and they’ve become easy and though I don’t set any land speed records, I know that I can finish. Now I need something that’s more of a challenge, something that I don’t know beyond a doubt that I can finish. That something is going to be a half marathon, next year. I haven’t chosen a specific event, quite yet, but it WILL happen.

Now I need to start getting rid of the “squish” and become a lean, mean, running machine (cliché sounding as it may be). The only way I can do that is have a serious challenge/goal and this is mine. I’m going to continue to challenge myself beyond that to doing a marathon when I turn 50 and being a fine looking “granny.”

A difficult thing for me is finding healthy food that actually tastes good, so I’ll share recipes that I find. I know that many go crazy over eating the “right” foods after having cancer, but I believe that life is all about moderation and enjoying the life you’ve been given and sometimes good food is just a part of enjoying life.

So brace yourself, you’ll likely be hearing about my antics in training and the new app I have on my iPad for running. I’m starting with 5K Runner and Lose it, as they seem to both to be effective in keeping me motivated, but will keep you informed on how I feel about them for the long run.

So as I titled this post, it’s going to be 13.1 or bust (and I’ll likely end up busting my butt somewhere along the way).

Have a great week and enjoy the life you’ve been given because you just might be the light someone needs to see…

“Jogging is very beneficial.  It’s good for your legs and your feet.  It’s also very good for the ground.  It makes it feel needed.”  ~Charles Schulz, Peanuts

 

3 thoughts on “13.1 Or Bust!

  1. Patty Bir says:

    I used to walk 5Ks and so miss it. After I get the all clear from the surgeon next week and finish chemo, I’m going to start walking again. I want to be back by the time I hit 50 too.

Leave a comment